Phone: (305) 373-6295

The Ministry of Health & Wellness advises the public that as a consequence of the identification of a new COVID-19 Variant of Concern (VOC) – Omicron (B1.1.529), the Government of The Bahamas has imposed travel restrictions on travelers from the following countries with effect from midnight of 29th November 2021:

  • Botswana;
  • Eswatini (formerly Swaziland) Lesotho;
  • Malawi;
  • Mozambique;
  • Namibia;
  • Zimbabwe; and
  • South Africa

Individuals not ordinarily resident in The Bahamas who have travelled to, through, or from these countries within the last fourteen (14) days WILL NOT be allowed entry into The Bahamas at this time. 

Individuals who are ordinarily resident (citizens, permanent residents, individuals with work permits) may be permitted to enter The Bahamas, but will be subject to mandatory quarantine for fourteen (14) days at their own expense and will undergo screening as mandated by the Ministry of Health & Wellness. 

This advisory applies to individuals who are vaccinated or unvaccinated. 

All other existing entry requirements, as outlined in the COVID Health Services Rules (2021), must be adhered to.

The Ministry of Health and Wellness strongly advises against travel to the countries listed above at this time. 

For additional information, call the Ministry of Health and Wellness at (242) 502-4700.